Check engine mount torque - 2017+ Kawasaki Z650 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-25-2017, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 134
Check engine mount torque

I asked the dealer mechanic to check and re torque the engine mount. He doesn't know the setting. I check internet found out that to install engine slider torque setting is 35 ib/inch. So he re torque using that number. After that my handle bar vibrate less but the seat and tank vibration remain the same.

3 engine mount on each side. 1 in front and 2 at the back. Anybody know the torque spec for all mounting ?
Shamsul Kamal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-25-2017, 11:28 AM
Member
 
JACoH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Pacific Northwet
Posts: 94
Wow, I'm really surprised the dealer doesn't have the service manual, or at least a phone to call the distributor for torque specs! Where are you located?
According to the service manual (available on ebay, if you or the dealer needs one), all engine mounting bolts are 44 N-m/36 ft-lbs torque.
JACoH is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-25-2017, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 134
Tq JACoh. Manual is 44NM? Google convert 44NM to 32.45 foot pound. The mechanic has over tighten it arghhh.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8588_1495752964425.PNG
Views:	132
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	417  
Shamsul Kamal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-26-2017, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Tremonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 262
The difference from 32-36ft-lbs wouldn't make a noticeable difference in machine tooled steel that the motor mounts are made of. I torque mine to 35ft-lb and call it good. Unless you keep your torque wrench calibrated, you will mostly likely find it to be off anyway.

Bored? Looking for info? Check here: www.tremonte.tv
Tremonte is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2017, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 134
TQ, Tremonte for the info. I went back to the mechanic to set it back to 44 NM before your posting.
Shamsul Kamal is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome